Site icon UniScholarz Blog

Commonwealth Scholarships: All You Need To Know

Commonwealth Scholarships: All You Need To Know

Commonwealth scholarships are considered to be the greatest international scholarships programme that offer students full funding to international students. A Commonwealth scholarship, Commonwealth Fellowship can cover the candidate’s overall expenses for studying abroad. In order to promote Commonwealth scholarships and fellowships for students coming from other nations of the federation, the governments of many different countries work together to make this possible. That’s why, these scholarships are available to students who are from Commonwealth countries like India, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Belgium, etc. This blog will provide you with all the information you need to bag yourself a Commonwealth scholarship and fellowship. 

What Is A Commonwealth Scholarship?

The Commonwealth scholarships are scholarship programmes under which the participating member countries offer scholarships and fellowships to students coming from other Commonwealth countries. There are around 53 different Commonwealth nations, a majority of which were former territories of the British empire. This includes some popular study destinations like the UK, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, India, Africa, Sri Lanka and more. The governments of the UK, New Zealand and Singapore are just some of the prominent nations which offer scholarships under the Commonwealth scholarships. 

Indian students can apply for Commonwealth scholarships offered by the following countries –

In India, the Commonwealth scholarships are jointly managed by the – 

Due to the immense popularity of the British higher education system, we will take a closer look at the most famous UK commonwealth scholarships.

UK Government Commonwealth Scholarship 2021

The UK Government Commonwealth Scholarship’s main purpose is to provide unique opportunities to high performing students from diverse backgrounds to contribute to their country’s progress. This scholarship programme is sponsored by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission (CSC), in conjunction with the Department for International Development, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) and the Department for Education (DFE) and UK universities. International students who have enrolled in one-year Masters courses are eligible to apply for these scholarships. 

Types Of Commonwealth Scholarships

In the UK, there are two major levels of higher studies which are covered under the Commonwealth scholarships – 

-The Commonwealth Masters Scholarship

-The Commonwealth PhD Scholarship

This version of the Commonwealth shared scholarships, Commonwealth Fellowship is meant for students living in poorly developed countries and fragile states which are part of the Commonwealth of Nations.

This type of scholarship is awarded to students coming from low and middle income countries which are part of the Commonwealth of nations.

Masters or PhD students enrolled in any of the following fields are eligible to apply for a Commonwealth scholarship to study in the UK – 

Benefits offered by the UK Commonwealth Scholarships For International Students

The UK Commonwealth Scholarships are a fully funded scholarship programme in the UK. This programme offers students numerous benefits, some of which are listed below – 

If the scholarship is at least 18 months long, the following family allowances are applicable:  

Eligibility Criteria for UK Commonwealth Scholarships

UK Commonwealth Scholarship for Masters Courses

UK Commonwealth Scholarships For PhD Courses

How To Apply For A Commonwealth Scholarship

Step 1: There are more than 90 UK universities which students can apply to for Commonwealth scholarships. These universities have part funding agreements with the CSC for applicants coming from low and middle income countries.

Step 2: The CSC does not accept applications directly from students, as a result, applicants need to go through one of the following nominating institutions –

Head over to the Commonwealth scholarships website to identify a list of nominating agencies in Commonwealth countries. In India, students need to go through the Ministry of Human Resource Development (HRD), Government of India. 

Step 3: Students then have to visit the Ministry of Human Resource Development website to apply for the UK Commonwealth Scholarship, before moving to apply on the ECAS portal. It is imperative that Indian students apply on both portals before the deadline. In most cases, the cutoff date for the Ministry of Human Resource Development is in January, whereas for ECAS, it is in December.

Step 4: Once students have reached the ECAS portal, they will need to create an account on it. Fill in all the required fields, upload documents and submit the application. The deadline to submit the application is in December however, students can upload their documents by January. 

Documents Required For UK Government Commonwealth Scholarships

We recommend that you keep the following documents handy, as this activity will save you a lot of time and effort while applying for the UK Commonwealth Scholarships. 

We hope you enjoyed reading this blog. If you wish to read more about Scholarships, here are some blogs that we think you will enjoy reading – 

You can find many scholarships like the ones mentioned in this blog and more on the UniScholarz website. Simply sign up for free today and start applying to your dream scholarships. If you need assistance with student accommodation and education loan, head over to UniAcco and UniCreds respectively, today.

Get Personalised Counselling Expert