Central Sector Scheme of National Overseas Scholarship for SC etc. candidates- (All countries except UK)
Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment
Deadline:  01st September

All Nationalities (Except United Kingdom)
M.Tech. (Master of Technology),Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy),M.Arch. (Master of Architecture),M.Plan. (Master of Planning),M.Com. (Master of Commerce),M.S. (Master of Surgery),M.Phil. (Master of Philosophy),M.B.A. (Master of Business Administration),M.Ed. (Master of Education),M.S. (Master of Science),M.Des. (Master of Design),M.C.A. (Master of Computer Applications),M.Optom. (Master of Optometry),M.P.H. (Master of Public Health),M.Voc. (Master of Vocation),M.H.R.D.M. (Master in Human Resources Development Management),M.Ch. (Master of Chirurgiae),M.Sc. (Master of Science),M.Text. (Master of Textile),M.A (Master of Arts)

Scholarship Overview

Central Sector Scheme of National Overseas Scholarship for SC is a unique scholarship programme meant for students pursuing Master level courses and Ph.D abroad in the accredited Institutions/University by an authorized body of that country. In order to be eligible for this scholarship, applicants must be enrolled in any of the following fields of study:

  • Engineering and Management
  • Pure Sciences & Applied Sciences
  • Agricultural Sciences and Medicine
  • International Commerce, Accounting & Finance
  • Humanities, Social Science & Fine Arts

Moreover, applicants pursuing their Master's Degree, PhD, Master’s Diploma, Master’s Certificate are eligible to apply. 

Shortlisting Process

  • The selected candidates are required to furnish all such legal documents and other agreements before their departure abroad, as decided by the Government of India from time to time.

Terms and Conditions

The continuation of the scholarship depends on the good academic performance of the scholars in the examinations conducted by their respective universities.

Renewal cases of stipend holders who are not promoted to the next year will not be considered for further renewal.



  • The age of the candidate should not be more than 35 years, as on the first day of April of the election year.
  • In order to be eligible for a scholarship, at least 60%of marks or equivalent grade in the qualifying examination would be required.
  • In the case of Ph. D courses, the qualifying exam is Masters Degree and for Masters Degree courses, the qualifying examination is Bachelors' Degree.
  • Preference would be given to experienced candidates, especially those who are on lien with their existing post and employer.
  • Not more than two children of the same parents/guardians will be eligible and to this effect, a self-certification will be required from the candidate. An awardee cannot be considered for the award on a subsequent occasion as the award can be given only once. The second child of the same parents/guardians will be considered only if the slots are still available for the year.
  • Under the Scheme, for determination of family income, the family is considered as follows:
    • The candidate applying for a scholarship, his/her parents and siblings below the age of 18 years and also his/ her spouse and children below the age of 18 years
    • In the case of married women, the income of the in-laws and her spouse and children below the age of 18 years is to be considered
    • For detailed scheme guidelines, please visit the Scheme portal "http://nosmsje.gov.in"

How To Apply

Candidates should apply in the application form prescribed and made available by the Ministry subsequent to the release of advertisement in respect of the selection of candidates for awards under the scheme. This application form as filled in by the applicant should be complete in all respects and also accompanied with proofs of caste/category, income, age, educational qualifications attained, experience acquired, admission obtained/applied etc.